News & Updates

SSEMC Awards $55,000 in Scholarships

22 high school seniors each receive $2,500

The Snapping Shoals EMC Scholarships were created in 1993 to recognize the achievements of outstanding high school seniors throughout our area. In 2004, we renamed them the Snapping Shoals EMC J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarships in memory of our former manager, president and CEO J.E. "Ed" Robinson, who was at the helm of Snapping Shoals from 1953 to 1995.
Academic ability, financial need and other factors, such as school and community activities, are considered in the selection of the scholarship recipients. The Snapping Shoals EMC J.E Robinson Memorial Scholarships are currently worth $2,500 each. The 2020 J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarship winners are:

  • District 1 (Newton, Walton, Morgan and Jasper counties) - Makayla Gray, Alice Kennedy, Dominique Lowe, Aliya Murphy, Kimberly Rangel, Hannah Scharf
  • District 2 (Rockdale County) - William "Buddy" Moss, Gabrielle Randolph, Bailey Scott, Essence Williams
  • District 3 (DeKalb County) - no applicants
  • District 4 (Henry and Butts counties) - Glory Degue, Tiffany Franklin, Emilia Keesey, Brianna Watson

The Snapping Shoals EMC All-Around Student Scholarships were created in 2007 to recognize the amazing high school students throughout our area. The scholarships were renamed to the Bradley K. Thomas Scholarships in January 2021 after the retirement of CEO Brad Thomas. These students are able to balance involvement in extracurricular activities while maintaining an excellent academic record. Involvement in school and community activities is the primary consideration for the Bradley K. Thomas Scholarships. Academic ability and financial need are also factors in the selection of the recipients.
The Snapping Shoals EMC Bradley K. Thomas Scholarships are currently worth $2,500 each. This year's All-Around Student scholarship recipients are: DaKayla Fulton-Johnson (Conyers), Amara Igwilo (Covington), Jesse Jay Nipper (Social Circle), Simisola Omotoso (Conyers), Saniya Reese (Covington), Gabriela Sanchez (Covington), Jaidyn Sawyer (Conyers), Emilee Walker (Oxford).